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                           Smoke Detectors, Heat Detectors                 

                                What You Should Know 

 

Fire officials in Minnesota are often questioned by the public as to the performance of smoke 
detectors versus heat detectors when installed to provide early life saving warning in the 
residential environment.  State Fire Marshal Division personnel also receive similar questions 
concerning the requirements for smoke detectors in residential buildings as required by the 2003 
Minnesota State Fire Code. 

     Full-scale fire tests conducted since the 1960’s have shown that smoke detectors are more 
reliable than heat detectors for early warning to provide live safety in homes.  In the 
January/February 1993 NFPA Journal, Bukowski summarizes 10 independent studies comprising 
over 200 experiments that prove this point. 

     The following text is extracted from State Fire Marshal Division Fact Sheet titled Fire Alarms in 
Group R Division 3 Residential Buildings.  Local fire officials are encouraged to develop similar 
policies to provide guidance in dealing with the issue of smoke and heat detectors in residential 
buildings. 

SMOKE DETECTORS IN RESIDENTIAL OCCUPANCIES 

Experience and full scale testing has shown that typical residential fires produce detectable 
quantities of smoke prior to detectable levels of heat in nearly all cases.  In addition, slowly 
developing, smoldering fires may produce incapacitating and even lethal levels of smoke and 
toxic gases without any significant increase in room temperature.  The Minnesota State Fire 
Marshal acknowledges that approved heat detectors installed in areas not appropriate for smoke 
detector installation such as furnace rooms, garages and unfinished attics, may provide some 
additional warning in the case of a fire confined to these areas.  The State Fire Marshal will not 
accept heat detectors as an alternative or equal to smoke detectors in locations requiring the 
installations of smoke detectors. 

IONIZATION VERSUS PHOTOELECTRIC DETECTORS 

In cases where smoke detectors are subject to frequent false alarming due to cooking, smoking 
or similar causes, the State Fire Marshal encourages the installation of photoelectric smoke 
detectors as they are not as susceptible to these types of false activation. 



Studies have shown that ionization detectors are better at detecting small, invisible particles of 
combustion that are typically present from fast, hot, flaming fires.  These studies have also shown 
that photoelectric detectors are better at detecting larger, visible smoke particles that are more 
commonly seen from slow, smoldering fires.  Both types of smoke detectors have been shown to 
be effective in detecting typical residential-type fires.  Some research seems to indicate that 
photoelectric detectors may activate slightly sooner as many residential fires start out as slow, 
smoldering fires. 

PRICES AND SALES PRACTICES 

In Checking with a number of retail outlets, the following were typical prices: 

Battery-powered (9 volt) smoke detector - ionization type  $ 8.00 

Hard-wired (120 volt) smoke detector - ionization type  $10.00 

Hard-wired smoke detector with battery back-up - ionization type  $20.00 

Battery-powered (9 volt) smoke detector - photoelectric type  $25.00 

Hard-wired (120 volt) smoke detector - photoelectric type  $25.00 

Battery-powered (9 volt) smoke detector - dual sensor type ionization and 
photoelectric  

$30.00 

Heat detector (where appropriate, i.e. garage, furnace room)  $30.00 

There are companies in Minnesota that market and sell detection devices and/or systems for 
residences.  These devices and/or systems can become relatively expensive and will cause 
homeowners to question State Fire Marshal personnel as to their value.  As with any device, 
system, service or contractor, State Fire Marshal personnel are not permitted to endorse or 
recommend particular products or companies. 

When questioned by homeowners as to whether or not these types of systems or equipment 
were a good value or fair price, State Fire Marshal personnel are advised not to comment.  
Homeowners are recommended to obtain price quotes from a number of different vendors before 
signing a contract for the installation of fire detection or alarm systems. 

If an individual is concerned about questionable sales practices, the person should be advised to 
contact the Better Business Bureau or the Consumer Services Unit of the Attorney General's 
Office at (651) 296-3353. 
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